Travel diary: Italy- At the sea

Hello everyone! Today´s post is going to be the second part to my travel diary about my vacation in Italy past week. While in the previous post, I focused myself on giving you a pretty detailed insight into the stays we had in cities such as Verona and Milan, this post is all about the more laid-back days we spend at the sea. After having explored Munich, Verona and Milan for the past 7 days or so, me and my friend decided to recline a bit and go to Genova, from where we could then travel to the beautiful area of Cinque Terre along the Italian coastline.

IMG_3623Starting off our “relaxing days” in Genova, we explored the city along with a couple of it´s main attractions a bit. We were both really surprised at how big Genova really is, and at how many things you can really do there. Before we got to Genova, I read in a sightseeing guide I found on the internet that you could spend weeks in Genova and still have loads of things to do; at the time I read it, I merely thought the person who wrote that was exaggerating, however when we got there it hit me just how right that person actually was.

IMG_3625

IMG_3641

One of the many many impressive domes in Genova..

IMG_3736_2Next off, we travelled to Santa Margherita from Genova in a bid to see beautiful Portofino, a place that me and my friend were both absolutely dying to see.

IMG_3698

IMG_3699

To be honest, me and my friend both loved Santa Margherita just as much as we loved Portofino. It´s a beautiful, extremely picturesque little town located right by the sea which boasts a stunning view onto the sea and a city centre which is just as incredible. I am not exaggerating, but every little nook you see there makes you want to take a picture of it!

IMG_3792

IMG_3791

IMG_3739 By ferry, we then arrived in Portofino. When you want to see Portofino, I can not recommend you enough to first go to Santa Margherita, and then take one of the countless ferries that run to Portofino.

IMG_3720

IMG_3722

IMG_3721

Portofino itself is a veeery small town, only having about 500 inhabitants. That said, there´s only one main street in entire Portofino, which makes navigating through it (with a countless number of tourists) pretty hard.

IMG_3724

IMG_3725

IMG_3738

Nonetheless, Portofino is such a picturesque city which looks simply breathtaking against the backdrop of lush, green trees growing on the steep hills of Cinque Terre.

From Portofino we made out way to a tiny beach in nearby Paraggi (a 15 minute walk).

IMG_3737_2

Seeing that it had become pretty late already, we decided to catch our ferry back to Santa Margherita and bid a final farewell to the beautiful little town.

IMG_3793

IMG_3794

See you soon Cinque Terre, I will most definitely be back!!

Thanks for reading,

I hope you guys liked this post! X

Leave a Reply

